The FBA Henry Fillmore Composition Contest is established to encourage students' efforts in original composition and to give recognition for outstanding achievement.

Rules and Regulations:

  • In order to be eligible to participate in this contest, the applicant must be a regular member of a band under the direction of an active member of the Florida Bandmasters Association.
  • The composition must be for any standard instrumentation consistent with the solo, ensemble, jazz band, or full band listings used in F.B.A. Music Performance Assessments.
  • A PDF file of the Full Score (including any accompaniment), a PDF file of the complete set of parts, and an MP3 file of a recording (PREFERABLY LIVE, but computer rendered is acceptable) must be uploaded to the online application.
  • The application must be submitted online by JUNE 1


The Composition Contest Committee shall judge all entries at the meeting immediately following the deadline. The recipient will be notified in time for presentation of the award to be made at the annual FMEA Clinic/Conference.


The award will include a plaque indicating the achievement which will be presented before a gathering at the FMEA Clinic/Conference, and cash awards of up to $500.00 may be awarded at the discretion of the Contest Committee. If no suitable compositions are submitted, no awards will be given.

Online Application

Composition Tips from Larry Clark


Elijah Wheat
Tarpon Springs High School
2018 Fillmore Award Winner


Past Winners

2011-12 Brendan Sweeney - Chotawhatchee High School (Trumpet Solo) - Chad Hannah & Kelly Deklinski, directors

2012-13 Andrew Dinicola - Gaither High School (Percussion Ensemble) - Brian Dell, director

2013-14 Robert Tindle - Westwood Christian School (Concert Band) - Eric Tindle, director

2014-15 Jacob Britton - Osceola School of the Arts (Jazz Band) - Miguel Alvarado, director

2014-15 Joshua Williams - Crestview High School (Piano Solo) - Jody Dunn, director

2015-16  Marlon Caro - Coral Reef High School (Concert Band) - Christopher Illa, director

2015-16  Joshua Johnson - Escambia High School (Concert Band) - Douglas Holsworth, director

2016-17  Brian Hanson - Lincoln High School (Concert Band) - Daniel Rossman, director

2017-18  Andrew Gregg - Escambia High School (Piano Solo) - Douglas Holsworth, director

2018-19 Elijah Wheat - Tarpon Springs High School (Concert Band) - Kevin Ford, director

Henry Fillmore (December 3, 1881 – December 7, 1956) wrote over 250 tunes and arranged orchestrations for hundreds more. While best known for march music and screamers, he also wrote waltzes, foxtrots, hymns, novelty numbers, overtures and waltzes. In his later life, Fillmore retired to Miami and spent much of his time and energy with area schools and the University of Miami music department.