The FBA Commissioning Committee develops criteria for commissioning musical works for band or other media as deemed worthy by the committee and with the concurrence of the Executive Board, funded by fines generated through Late Fees. The current chair of the commissioning committee is Brian Dell.

A Movement for Rosa, 1994 
Mark Camphouse
Published by TRN

The Sun and the Moon, 1995
Greg Dyes

Council Oak, 2002 
David Gillingham
Published by C. Alan Publications

The Summit Overture, 2002
James Welsch
Winner of the 2002 FBA Grade 1 Commissioning Committee Contest

Clarion Call, 2014 
Julian Bryson
Co-Commission with FVA
Premiered by the 2015 Combined All-State Men's Chorus and Concert Band
Published by

Hosannas, 2015
David Maslanka
Consortium for Gary Green's Retirement from the University of Miami
Published by Maslanka Press

Once More Twice, 2015
Paul Baker 
Premiered by the Glades Middle School Jazz Band at Midwest 2015
Florida premiere by the 2017 All-State Middle School Jazz Band
Published by Baker's Jazz and More

With Solemn Gratitude, 2015
William Brusick
Premiered by the 2015 All-State MS Honor Band 
In memory of Duane Hendon
Published by Brusick Music

Journey, 2014
Paul Basler
Premiered by the 2015 Nine Star Honor Band

Der Lehrmeister, 2015 
Robert Sheldon 
Premiered by the 2016 All-State High School Honor Band
In Memory of Jack Crew
Published by Alfred Music

Mr. Bartow, 2015 
Larry Clark 
Premiered by the 2016 All-State High School Concert Band
Co-Commissioned with the Bartow Adult Band and the Bartow High School band to honor John DeYoung
Published by Carl Fischer

Florida Portraits, 2015
Brant Karrick
Premiered by the 2016 Nine Star Honor Band
Published by Alfred Music

Michael Markowski
Premiered by the 2017 All-State Concert Band
Published by Markowski Creative

Sunscapes, 2016
Chandler Wilson
Premiered by the 2017 Nine Star Honor Band
Published by Alfred Music 

I'm Down With That, 2017
Mark Taylor
Premiered by the 2018 All-State High School Jazz Band
Published by Hal Leonard (Spring of 2018)

Waiting for the Sunlight, 2017
Jack Stamp
Premiered by the 2018 All-State Middle School Band
In Memory of Linda Mann, Past President
Published by the FBA

Colors of Light, 2017
Baljinder Sekhon
USF Consortium for John Carmichael Retirement
Published by Sekhon Music

Blood Moon Ablaze, 2017
Andrew Boss
Premiered by the 2018 Nine Star Honor Band
Published by Boss Music Studios

Octamarch, 2017
Josh Hobbs
Premiered by the 2019 FBA Nine Star Honor Band
Published by Hobbs Music

Youngblood, 2018
Alan Baylock
Premiered by the 2019 All-State High School Jazz Band

Hero, 2018
Andrew Boss
Premiered by the Stetson University Symphonic Band at the FBA Hall of Fame Ceremony
In Memory of Dr. Bobby Adams
Published by Boss Music Studios

TBA, 2018
Mike Tomaro
To be premiered by the 2020 All-State High School Jazz Band

HIM, 2018
Haley Woodrow
Premiered by the 2020 All-State Middle School Band 
Published by Woodrow Music

Way Down, 2019
Jeffrey Traster
Premiered by the 2020 FBA Nine Star Honor Band 
Published by Allegrezza Music