The intent of this award is to recognize a FBA member who has gone into a band program and turned the program around, making a huge positive difference in a relatively short period of time in the position of band director. 


  • FBA Member and currently a band director in the state of Florida 
  • The nominee is teaching at the same school the year they are nominated. 
  • Attends FBA District and State meetings (Summer Conference and January) on a regular basis 
  • Dramatic improvement in Concert/Marching MPA ratings within 1-4 years.
  • Participation, growth, and outstanding results at the District S&E MPA 
  • Band program has grown in numbers 

Selection Procedure 

  • Each District may nominate 1 person (secret ballot, 75% positive vote of those present at the August or October district meeting) 
  • An application is completed by the nominee (due to the FBA Awards Committee Chair by Nov 1) 
  • Three letters of recommendation ( School Principal, Recent Marching or Concert Band MPA Adjudicator of the nominee’s band program,  and one other FBA member due to the Award Committee Chair by Nov 1) 
  • A committee will select the award recipients based on the application and other outside knowledge 
  • No limit on the number of recipients


Tom Bishop Award Instructions and Application updated August 2023


Tom Bishop Award Recipients:

January 2006
Michael Antmann - Swift Creek Middle School
Pamela Chaffin - Southeast High School
William (Asa) Jernigan - Mandarin Middle School
Cara McKinney - Deltona Middle School
Keary Pence - Carver Middle School
Connie Pettis - Jay High School
Ian Schwindt - Titusville High School
Jane Sholine - Lakeland Highlands Middle School
Erick Stallings - Dunnellon Middle School

January 2007
Nicole Conte - Leto Senior High School
Michael Fraley - Boca Raton Middle School
Peter Krostag - Pine Forest High School
Ted Shistle - Deland High School
David Tagliarini - Madeira Beach Middle School
Johnnie Tracey - Western High School

January 2008
Luis Alvarez - DeSoto High School
Jack Eddy, Jr. - Oak Ridge High School,
Jeremy Klein - Robinson High School
Christine Napoles - Arthur and Polly Mays Middle School
Michael Williams - Silver Sands Middle School

January 2009
Paul Bryant - Rockledge High School
Kendall Carrier - Braden River High School
Nicole Greco - Forest Glen Middle School
Erich Rivero - Glades Middle School
Willie Snipes - Van Buren Middle School
Mark Sorrells - Liberty Middle School
James Yaques - Palm Beach Central High School
Brian Sullivan - New Smyrna Beach High School

January 2010
Linda Orrantia - Windy Ridge Middle School
Chandler Wilson - Hollywood Hills High School
Philip Porter - Mount Dora High School

January 2011
Christopher Ecklund – Bair Middle School
John Rosbottom – Golden Gate Middle School
Antony Watson – Monroe Middle School
Scott Leahy – R. B. Steward Middle School
Blake Garcia – Pensacola High School

January 2012
Michael Uhrich - Windy Hill Middle School
Jamie Rucker - Palm Beach Gardens High School

January 2013:
Steven DeLadurantey - Gulf Coast High School
Mathew Flenner - Eustis High School
Daniel Harvey - Lake Worth High School
Michael Himes - Robert E. Lee Middle School
Joseph Hughes - Eastside High School
Ronald Jules - New River Middle School
William Reaney - Highlands Oak Middle School

January 2014:
Joshua Autrey, Gateway High School
Wanda J. Berry, Hunters Creek Middle School
Amanda Leddy, Hobbs Middle School
Tamara Lewis, Sarasota Middle School
Luis Piccinelli, Coral Springs Middle School

January 2015:
Zanetta Barnes - Galaxy Middle School
Siobhan Fergiels - Bear Lakes Middle School
Nelson Roque, Jr. -  Southwest Miami High School
Wayne Watson - Wakulla High School

January 2016:
Russell Bertles - J.H. Workman Middle School
Luke Hall - Treasure Coast High School
Michael Loffredo - Bradford Middle School
Sean Luce - Lake Gibson Sr. High School
Bryan Munera - Legacy Middle School
Jermaine Reynolds - Citrus High School
Michael Scott - South Broward High School
Lederian Townsend - Lely High School
Carmen Williams - Riversprings Middle School 

January 2017:
Amy Bernloehr - Southwest Middle School
Jason Cochrac - Mater Academy Middle/High School
Bernnie Leverett - George S. Middleton High School
Ross McCarthy - Powell Middle School Arts Center
Angela McKenzie - Laurel Nokomis School
Sheldon McLean - Dillard Center for the Arts
David Riggs - Avalon Middle School
Paulette Tomlinson - Florida State University School

January 2018:
Anthony Chiarito - Baker School
Lindsey Crouch - Umatilla Middle School
Jeremy George - James Rickards High School
Brandon Jenkins - Heritage High School
Jamaal Nicholas - Jones High School
Stephen Panoff - Sandalwood High School
Brandon Poiroux - Deane Bozeman School
Kathryn Stark - Olsen Middle School

January 2019:
JR Boatwright - Louise R. Johnson Middle School
John Egan - David L. Anderson Middle School
Amanda Griffis - Chamberlain High School
John E. Harcus - Vernon High School
David Jones - Forest High School
Devan Moore - Fairview Middle School
Schelvin Robinson - Northeast High School
Kevin Devitt - Challenger Middle School

January 2020:
Christina Johnson - Wellington Landings Middle School
Charles Moorer, Jr. - McArthur High School
Armand Navarro - Pensacola High School
Daren Nolff - Mariner Middle School
Brandon Slone - Markham Woods Middle School
Zachary Sullivan - Bradford High School
David Triplett-Rosa - Barrington Middle School
Kimberly Zipoli-Martins - Corner Lake Middle School

January 2021:
Corey Curtis - Bair Middle School
Mario Ford - Maynard Evans High School
William Hazlett - Hilliard Middle-Senior High School
Anna Goebel - Highlands Oaks Middle School
Christopher Shultz - Marion S. Rodgers Middle School
Scott Struyk - Kissimmee Middle School

January 2022:
Daniel Bates - St. Paul Lutheran School
Robert Colon - R. Hobbs Middle School
Matthew Malhiot - Harmony High School
Angela Maxion - Hollywood Hills High School
Timothy Nemzin - Piedmont Lakes Middle School
David Norona - Rutherford High School
Erin Whalley - Elizabeth Cobb Middle School

January 2023:
Aaron Janosa - North Marion HS
Alain Rodriguez - Homestead Sr. HS
Crystal Golinello - Southwest MS
Joshua Velez - Palm Beach Lakes Community HS
Scott Abbott - Tohopekaliga HS
Timotheus Harper - Amos P. Godby HS