At the July 2016 General Business meeting, the membership of FBA voted to initiate a Five-Year Superior State MPA award to be given to high school band directors that have received a superior rating for 5 consecutive years at the FBA State MPA. This award shall be named the Andrew J. Crew Award. 

This award will be awarded in the same manner and have similar appearance to the current 5-year Middle School Award. For the 2015-2016 school year, the award will be presented to directors who accomplished this feat during the five school years from August 2010 to May 2015 AND August 2011 to May 2016. Afterwards, the award will be given for Superiors received during the last five school years. 

Andrew J. Crew enjoyed an illustrious career as a music educator in the public schools of Florida, serving as band director at Plant City High School, Riverview High School, Sarasota; Mosley High School, Panama City; Lakeland High School, and Lincoln High School, Tallahassee.

Throughout his career, his bands performed at the highest level and were showcased in concerts and outdoor performances at the local, regional, and national levels. Highly sought as a conductor/clinician, Mr. Crew was very active throughout Florida and the Southeast, providing critique and assistance to students and fellow band directors.

In 1990, Crew was chosen as a recipient of the "Legion of Honor" award by the John Philip Sousa Foundation; recognizing him as one of the "Ten Best Band Directors" throughout the United States. Mr. Crew was elected to the Florida Bandmasters Association "Hall of Fame" in 1994. 

He served as President of the Florida Bandmasters Association in 1982-1983, and is featured in the FBA Legacy Project


January 2017:
Colbert P. Howell, Jr (2011-15):    Vero Beach High School
Alex Kaminsky (2011-15):    Buchholz High School
James Sammons (2011-15):   Vero Beach High School
Bradley Wharton (2011-15):   Lakeland Sr. High School

January 2018:
Brent Mounger (2013-17) - New World School of the Arts
Charles Watford (2013-17 - Dr. Phillips High School

January 2019:
Mara Rose (2014-18) - Fleming Island High School

January 2020:
Randy Folsom (2015-19) - Fort Walton Beach Sr. High School

January 2021:
Mark Spreen (2013-17) - Sarasota Riverview High School

January 2023:
Lee Commander (2016-22) - Leon High School
Bradley Wharton (2016-22) - Lake Brantley High School